Sharing Control of Devices

Share control of your Grid Connect system and choose the level of control you give.

The preferred way to give someone access and control to your Grid Connect devices, is to create a separate login for each person you would like to access your system.

To create a new login, you will need to either:

  1. Log out of the Grid Connect app and follow the prompts to create a new account, or
  2. Download the Grid Connect app on another device and create a new account
Share complete access

To share complete access with separate accounts:

  1. On the home screen, tap the location icon drop down.
  2. Select 'manage homes'.
  3. Select the location you wish to share.
  4. Under 'Home Members', tap 'Add Member'.
  5. Select 'app account'
  6. Enter the username (email) of the user. Ensure you select the appropriate country/region.
  7. You will be prompted to select whether or not they have Administrator access.
    1. Administrators will have access to make changes to the Grid Connect setup.
    2. Users can only operate products and scenes.
  8. Tap 'Complete'. Now the new user will receive a notification and must accept the share request.
  9. Once accepted, the new user will have access to your Grid Connect location in the location dropdown (they may need to refresh their dashboard for the changes to take effect).

You can remove members at any time by going to 'Location Settings', selecting the member and then tapping 'Remove Member'. You can re-add a member at any time.

Share limited access

To share limited access with separate accounts:

  1. On the home screen, select the product you would like to share with the other user, then tap the device settings icon in the upper right corner.
  2. Scroll down and tap 'Share Devices', then tap 'Share Device'.
  3. Enter the username (email) of the user. Ensure you select the appropriate country/region.
  4. The new user will now see the shared device. (They may need to refresh their dashboard for the changes to take effect).
  5. To remove shared access, tap the menu icon on the individual product page and tap 'RemoveSharing'.
  6. Administrators can see who has shared access to individual devices by going to the individual product page, tapping the menu icon and selecting 'Share Devices'.
  7. You can view who has shared access to all products by going into 'manage home'.


To give someone complete access and control of the system, you can download the app and log in using the same username and password.

Please ensure that you only share your account details to trusted users, keeping in mind that you will need to change your password should you no longer want them to have access to your account.